Make your request now

Vehicle Category Code

Industry Standard Car Classification Code

ACRISS Members utilise an industry standard vehicle matrix to define car models ensuring a like to like comparison of vehicles. This easy-to-use matrix consists of four categories. Each position in the four character vehicle code represents a definable characteristic of the vehicle. This vehicle matrix makes it possible to have 400 vehicle types. Car codes are created by assigning one character from each column and combining them into a four-character car code:

  • 1st character denotes the vehicle category – based on size, cost, power and luxury factor
  • 2nd character defines the vehicle type – chassis type (Van, SUV, Wagon, Convertible….)
  • 3rd character defines the transmission and drive – Automatic / Manual & 2WD / 4WD / AWD
  • 4th character defines the fuel type (Petrol / Diesel / Hybrid/ Electric…) and whether air conditioned or not

Vehicle Matrix- Car Classification Codes

M Mini B 2-3 Door M Manual Unspecified Drive R Unspecified Fuel/Power With Air
N Mini Elite C 2/4 Door N Manual 4WD N Unspecified Fuel/Power Without Air
E Economy D 4-5 Door C Manual AWD D Diesel Air
H Economy Elite W Wagon/Estate A Auto Unspecified Drive Q Diesel No Air
C Compact V Passenger Van B Auto 4WD H Hybrid Air
D Compact Elite L Limousine/Sedan D Auto AWD I Hybrid Plug in Air
I Intermediate S Sport     E Electric 
J Intermediate Elite T Convertible     C Electric 
S Standard F SUV     L LPG/Compressed Gas Air
F Fullsize X Special     A Hydrogen Air
G Fullsize Elite P Pick up (single/extended cab) 2 door     B Hydrogen No Air
P Premium Q Pick up (double cab) 4 door     M Multi Fuel/Power Air
U Premium Elite Z Special Offer Car     F Multi fuel/power No Air
L Luxury E Coupe     V Petrol Air
    N Roadster        
    G Crossover        
    K Commercial Van/Truck        

JV 5+2 Seats 

SV 7 Seats

RV Elite 7 Seats 

FV 7 Seats Plus More Space

UV Elite 8 Seats

LV 9 Seats 

©2023 | All rights reserved | Design & Development by DATAGEN